alle werken

10 werken in Donemus catalogus

populaire werken

Autumn concerto : for alto saxophone & symphony orchestra, 2001 / Kasia Glowicka

Genre: Orkest
Subgenre: Orkest
Bezetting: 3333 2431 2perc hp pf str sax-a-solo

Favola : for piano and tape / Katarina Glowicka

Genre: Electronische Muziek
Subgenre: Piano met elektronica
Bezetting: pf elec

Opera for the Unknown Woman : for 14 voices, violin, violoncello, percussion and electronics / Katarina Glowicka; text Melanie Wilson

Genre: Electronische Muziek
Subgenre: Gemengd ensemble (2-12 spelers) met elektronica
Bezetting: GK4 vlc vc perc tape

nieuwste editie

Sun Spot : for piano and tape / Kasia Głowicka

Genre: Electronische Muziek
Subgenre: Piano met elektronica
Bezetting: pf tape



Glowicka, Katarina

Nationaliteit: Poland
Geboortedatum: 1977-01-01
Website: Featured Composer's Page ;

Katarina Glowicka's artistic output embraces musical media of every kind, as she collaborates with stage directors, choreographers, visual artists, musicians and conductors on original works for opera, dance and symphonic orchestra. Her works are distinguishable by their force of expression and colour.

Her works have been premiered by renowned international ensembles and soloists such as Scottish Ensemble, Ensemble Recherche, Holland Symfonia, the Vocal Lab, British countertenor Jonathan Peter Kenny and saxophonist Ties Mellema, among many others. The chamber piece, Microgalaxies, was commissioned and performed at the Wien Modern festival in Austria while other compositions have been performed at the Biennale di Venezia, Warsaw Autumn, De Suite at Ijsbreker, Gaudeamus Music Week.

She graduated from the Wroclaw Academy of Music in Poland under her mentor Grazyna Pstrokonska-Nawratil before pursuing postgraduate studies at the Royal Conservatory of Music in The Hague under Louis Andriessen, and at the Strasbourg Conservatory under Ivan Fedele. Her fervent belief in the new computer medium has taken her to Northern Ireland where she completed her PhD in 2008 at the Sonic Arts Research Centre. Currently she is a freelance musician in the Netherlands and a lecturer of computer music at Royal Conservatory Brussels.


Katarzyna Glowicka is geboren in 1978 in Polen.

Zij studeerde aan het Wroclaw conservatorium bij Grazyna Pstrokonska-Nawratil en vervolgde haar studie bij Louis Andriessen aan het Koninklijk Conservatorium in Den Haag en bij Ivan Fidele aan het conservatorium van Straatsburg. Nu studeert zij aan het Sonic Arts Research Centre in Noord-Ierland.

Glowicka heeft muziek voor verschillende soorten ensembles geschreven, waaronder voor kamerorkest en symfonieorkest. Haar oeuvre bevat tevens theatermuziek en elektro-akoestische werken. Haar composities zijn uitgevoerd in Polen, Oostenrijk, België, Frankrijk, Duitsland, Groot Brittannië, de Oekraïne en Nederland. Autumn Concerto voor altsaxofoon en orkest werd in april 2004 uitgekozen voor het Project Jonge Componisten en uitgevoerd door Holland Symfonia.

Zij heeft diverse beurzen en onderscheidingen ontvangen, onder meer van het ministerie van OC&W, de Europese Commissie, de Poolse Society of Contemporary Music en de Musica Sacra Competition.