gerelateerde werken

Cloud Ossuary : Symphony Nº 4 for soprano and orchestra / Douglas Knehans; words by Katarina Knehans

Genre: Vocaal
Subgenre: Zangstem en orkest
Bezetting: sop eh tpt 2perc hp str

Fluitconcert : (1956) / Henk Badings

Genre: Orkest
Subgenre: Fluit en orkest
Bezetting: 2121 2110 timp pf str fl-solo

Bantammer Swing : for contrabass flute and orchestra / Ned McGowan

Genre: Orkest
Subgenre: Fluit en orkest
Bezetting: fl-cb-solo fl ob cl-b fg h trp trb tb 2perc str

Concertino : voor fluit en klein orkest / Rud. Mengelberg

Genre: Orkest
Subgenre: Fluit en orkest
Bezetting: 0121 2100 str fl-solo



Tempest : Concerto for flute and orchestra / Douglas Knehans

Uitgavenummer: 21309
Genre: Orkest
Subgenre: Fluit en orkest
Bezetting: fl-solo 2fl(picc) ob eh cl cl-b fg cfg 2h tpt trb trb-b tbb timp 2perc hp str
Bijzonderheden: Dedicated to Gareth Davies
Tijdsduur: 20'00"
Compositiejaar: 2014
Status: volledig gedigitaliseerd (direct leverbaar)

Overige auteurs:
Knehans, Douglas (Componist)
The title of this work refers to rough wind. When I was approached me about a new flute work the idea of a virtuosic wind player set my imagination to types of crazy, unrestrained wind. This led me to look into the natural occurrences of wild, unpredictable wind patterns around the world. This led in turn to the titles of the three movements: Ostro the traditional name of the southerly wind in the Mediterranean sea; Mistral, a cold northerly from central France and the Alps to Mediterranean–this movement I have also allied to the notion of a type of funeral march, hence the title Mistral… Funerailles with the cold wind perhaps summoning the notion of death and impermanence. Finally, the last frantic and virtuosic movement is titled Etesian which references a strong, dry north wind of the Aegean Sea which is most of the time a good steady sailing wind. The well-contained and metrical virtuosity of this movement seems to align with this welcome and sustaining wind that is good for travel.
In artistically interpreting all of these types of global wind patterns I have tried to invest a dramatic and virtuosic element to the corresponding wind music. I was asked for a piece without restrictions and so a concerto seemed the obvious vehicle for the soloist’s awesome technical power and completely beautiful musicianship. I am extremely fortunate to have Gareth Davies, principal flute of the London Symphony Orchestra, as the soloist for this work.
Douglas Knehans

Indien u dit werk gaat uitvoeren, dan kunt u hier uw concert-informatie aangeven. Donemus zorgt dan voor vermelding van het concert op de Donemus Facebook pagina en in de Donemus Concertagenda.
U kunt van dit werk de partituur of andere producten on-line aanschaffen. Indien u kiest voor een downloadbaar product, ontvangt u het product digitaal. In alle andere gevallen wordt deze naar u opgestuurd. Let op dat u voor iedere gebruiker een exemplaar van het product nodig heeft.
Product Omschrijving Prijs/stuk Aantal
Partituur Download naar Newzik (A3), 48 pagina's EUR 33,65
Download in PDF (A3), 48 pagina's EUR 40,38
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 48 pagina's EUR 67,31
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 48 pagina's EUR 45,60
Piano reductie Download naar Newzik (A4), 52 pagina's EUR 24,06
Download in PDF (A4), 52 pagina's EUR 28,87
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 52 pagina's EUR 48,13
Solopartij Download naar Newzik (A4), 17 pagina's EUR 13,00
Download in PDF (A4), 17 pagina's EUR 15,59
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 17 pagina's EUR 26,00