Fulkerson, James

James Fulkerson werd op 2 juli 1945 in Illinois (USA) geboren. Opleiding Hij studeerde aan de Wesleyan University (B.A., 1966) en de University of Illinois (M.M., 1969). Hij had tromboneles van Carmine ...

gerelateerde werken

The archaeology of silence : for mezzo-soprano, tape and live-electronics, 1990/1991 / poems by Fernando Pessoa, James Fulkerson

Genre: Vocaal
Subgenre: Zangstem solo; Elektronica en zangstem(men) met of zonder instrument(en)
Bezetting: sopr-m tape electronics

Trio agitato : hoorn (F), trombone, tuba / Rob du Bois

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Koperensemble (2-8 spelers)
Bezetting: h trb tb

Kwartet no. 2 : voor 2 trp., hoorn en trombone, op. 111 / Gerard Boedijn

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Koperensemble (2-8 spelers)
Bezetting: h 2trp trb

Hymne : voor koperkwintet, 1996 / Roel van Oosten

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Koperensemble (2-8 spelers)
Bezetting: h 2trp 2trb



Mini-concerto : for solo trombone and 7 brass instruments, 1984 / James Fulkerson

Uitgever: Amsterdam: Donemus, cop. 1992
Uitgavenummer: 08120
Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Koperensemble (2-8 spelers)
Bezetting: h 3trp trb-t trb-b tb trb-t-solo
Bijzonderheden: Voor tenortrombone solo, 3 trompetten, hoorn, tenortrombone, bastrombone en tuba. - In opdracht van Abbey Brass. - Met financiƫle steun van South West Arts. - Tijdsduur: ca. 15'30''
Tijdsduur: 16'00"
Aantal spelers: 8
Compositiejaar: 1984
Status: nog niet gedigitaliseerd (verwachte levertijd 14 dagen)

Program note (English): Mini-concerto is a concerto for trombone and seven brass instruments. The mini in the title refers to the chamber ensemble of brass instruments only - not to the scope of difficulty of the work. It is a work about space and spatial disposition in performance but also, the space of within the sound world itself. The work is in five sections which are performed without pause. Section I uses a chromatic, but static, 'block' of sound - a bubbling, frenzy of energy which ultimately settles onto a single pitch 'g.' Section II dissolves into the atonal, fast movement which is Section III. Section III also confirms the polarity of musical spaces which have been set out in the work, tonality - atonality. Section IV is a short interlude similar to the motionless quality of Section II: slow, suspended sounds, tone colors projected through the performance space, a plaintiff trombone melody slowly emerging. Section V, which is the largest single section of the work, is based upon the
concept of a soloist into a tape delay system. The 'answering voices' here are of course the other seven brass instruments which affords a variety of tone color which cannot be achieved by a tape delay system itself. It is in g minor. - JAMES FULKERSON

Heeft u interesse om dit werk aan te schaffen? Laat ons dit dan vrijblijvend weten zodat we dit werken met voorrang kunnen digitaliseren.