Sims, Richard

Richard Sims werd geboren in Engeland op 3 mei 1961. Sinds 1990 woont en werkt hij in Nederland. Opleiding Van 1970 tot 1985 kreeg hij privéles van Susan Brandt (cello) en van ...

gerelateerde werken

Quintessence : for chamber choir, 1998 / Richard Sims

Genre: Vocaal
Subgenre: Gemengd koor
Bezetting: GK4

Passacaglia e Danza : for piano, clarinet in b flat and violoncello, 1998 / Frans Mulder

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Blaas en strijk en toetsinstrument(en)
Bezetting: cl pf vc

Réflexions no. 3 : pour flûte, violon, alto, violoncelle et piano (ou clavecin), 1960-'61 / [voor uitvoering gereed gemaakt door Rob du Bois], Daniel Ruyneman

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Blaas en strijk en toetsinstrument(en); Gemengd ensemble (2-11 spelers)
Bezetting: fl pf/cemb vl vla vc

Trio : per flauto, violino e pianoforte, 1980 / Andries de Braal

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Blaas en strijk en toetsinstrument(en)
Bezetting: fl vl pf



Palimpsest : for clarinet, violoncello and fortepiano, 1997 / Richard Sims

Uitgever: Amsterdam: Donemus, 1998
Uitgavenummer: 09570
Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Blaas en strijk en toetsinstrument(en)
Bezetting: cl vc pf
Bijzonderheden: In opdracht van en opgedragen aan Trio Eroica. - Met financiële steun van het Fonds voor de Scheppende Toonkunst. - Cop. 1998. - Tijdsduur: ca. 14'30''
Tijdsduur: 15'00"
Aantal spelers: 3
Status: nog niet gedigitaliseerd (verwachte levertijd 14 dagen)

Program note (English): [Première: 4-11-2000 - Ganderkesee, Bremen - Trio Eroica] - This piece continues my preoccupation with writing for period instruments. Rather than being merely an intermediate stage in the ineluctable evolution of the modern instrument, the period instrument is a complete and perfect entity in its own right. I have exploited for colouristic, stylistic and expressive potential of such instruments in previous pieces, notably my Philibuster for fortepiano (1993). Palimpsest, deriving from the Greek, describes a manuscript on which there are two texts, one of which is written on top of the other. A more striking image is that of a painting upon which a later work of art has been superimposed or, indeed, the ruins of an ancient building from whose rubble a shiny modern edifice rises like a sphinx from the ashes. The base layer of this piece consists of the Kegelstadt Trio of Mozart (KV 493) for clarinet, viola and piano; a piece which featured large in my childhood. Upon the formal
plan of the first movement I have superimposed my own material almost (but not quite) entirely obliterating the original. Adherence to the formal structure of the original is strictly observed to form a single extended sonata from arch. Thus the new construction, although of modern materials utilising contemporary building techniques, is nevertheless built following the contours of the original foundations. The piece is tautly strung between a sequence of 96 chords deriving from pitch material from the second movement of the Mozart transformed using group-theoretical techniques pioneered in some way of my earlier works. The thematic material is based, perhaps more loosely, upon the third movement. In this way the whole Mozart trio is present in one way or another in this piece. In places where the fabric is worn, traces of the underlying work come to the surface, distorted with age and strangely new in the unfamiliar context. - Richard Sims

Heeft u interesse om dit werk aan te schaffen? Laat ons dit dan vrijblijvend weten zodat we dit werken met voorrang kunnen digitaliseren.