Simons, Marijn

Simons was born in The Netherlands on December 25, 1982. Education: He studied violin with Prof. Saschko Gawriloff, composition with Daan Manneke and James MacMillan and conducting with Ed Spanjaard, Jean- ...

gerelateerde werken

Fire Column (Piano Concerto Nº 2) : for piano and string orchestra / Marijn Simons

Genre: Orkest
Subgenre: Piano en strijkorkest
Bezetting: pf str

Venezia : voor 2 discantgamba's en basgamba, 1998 / Will Eisma

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Cello
Bezetting: 2gamb-s gamb-b

Model : for violoncello / Mathieu Daniël Polak, 2006

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Cello
Bezetting: vc

Rimpicciolimento : violoncello, 1985 / Huub Kerstens

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Cello
Bezetting: vc



Vita Fugax : for cello / Marijn Simons

Uitgavenummer: 12867
Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Cello
Bezetting: vc
Bijzonderheden: Opus 76.
Tijdsduur: 15'00"
Aantal spelers: 1
Compositiejaar: 2013
Status: volledig gedigitaliseerd (direct leverbaar)

Vita Fugax means “fleeting life”. It was originally composed for campanula (a kind of cello with additional 16 resonating strings) for the former principal cellist of the Berlin Philharmonic Georg Faust. The campanula version has extended improvised sections. The cello and viola versions are reduced to the concretely written out passages.

The opening movement Secret Societies is a social commentary on “behind closed doors” politics and silly conspiracy theories.
The second movement Futurology is based on Stanislaw Lem’s novel The Futurological Congress.
The third movement Christian Extremism is a statement against extremism (of any sort), which unfortunately is still too much a part of our present society.
The final movement’s title A Fairy Story comes from a quote by a man I hugely admire, namely Stephen Hawking: “A belief that heaven or an afterlife awaits us is a fairy story for people afraid of death”. - Marijn Simons

Indien u dit werk gaat uitvoeren, dan kunt u hier uw concert-informatie aangeven. Donemus zorgt dan voor vermelding van het concert op de Donemus Facebook pagina en in de Donemus Concertagenda.
U kunt van dit werk de partituur of andere producten on-line aanschaffen. Indien u kiest voor een downloadbaar product, ontvangt u het product digitaal. In alle andere gevallen wordt deze naar u opgestuurd. Let op dat u voor iedere gebruiker een exemplaar van het product nodig heeft.
Product Omschrijving Prijs/stuk Aantal
Partituur Download naar Newzik (B4), 32 pagina's EUR 22,55
Download in PDF (B4), 32 pagina's EUR 27,07
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 32 pagina's EUR 40,65
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 32 pagina's EUR 33,35