Brewaeys, Luc

Luc Brewaeys werd geboren in 1959 te Mortsel (België). Hij studeerde compositie bij André LAPORTE in Brussel, bij Franco DONATONI in Siena (Italiê) en bij Brian FERNEYHOUGH in Darmstadt (Duitsland).

gerelateerde werken

Due cose belle ha il mondo: l’amore e la morte... : for piano solo, chamber orchestra and live-electronics / Luc Brewaeys

Genre: Orkest
Subgenre: Orkest met elektronica

Oog : for violoncello and tape, 1995 / revision 2000 / Michel van der Aa

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Cello; Elektronica met verschillende instrumenten; Cello met elektronica
Bezetting: vc tape

Punto Intenso contra Remisso : for cello and electronics / Ángel Arranz

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Cello met elektronica
Bezetting: vc electronics

Sinequan : for violoncello (amplified and delay), 1993 / Hanna Kulenty

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Cello; Elektronica met verschillende instrumenten; Cello met elektronica
Bezetting: vc (ampl.)



Black Rock Unfolding : for violoncello and live-electronics / Luc Brewaeys

Uitgavenummer: 13616
Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Cello met elektronica
Bezetting: vc elec
Tijdsduur: 17'00"
Aantal spelers: 1
Compositiejaar: 2009 (rev. 2010)
Status: volledig gedigitaliseerd (direct leverbaar)

"Black Rock Unfolding" has been commissioned by Mr. Guillaume Van Mechelen, a 81 years old man who attended a performance of my opera "L'uomo dal fiore in bocca" two years ago and decided to give me a commission for one instrument with live-electronics. Because the Ensemble Champ d'Action, for which I composed "OBAN" back in 1996, was organizing a series of concerts for the occasion of my 50th Birthday, we decided the work would be composed for cellist Arne Deforce, who had been asking me to write a piece for him since many years.

The title of the piece refers to my last ensemble piece "Cardhu" (written in 2008 for the Spectra Ensemble). Cardhu is a gealic word meaning black rock. I developed and/or extended some harmonic and rhythmic ideas of that work, hence the unfolding.

The live-electronics consist of three elements, a "freeze" reverberation system which allows the cellist to build chords out of the music he's playing and which can be heard whenever indicated with the use of a volume pedal, a ring modulator and finally some prerecorded audio fragments. These audio fragments are based on cello samples mixed with resonances of piano, bells and water drops sounds. These electronics were realized with the help of Champ d'Action, with special thanks to Roel Das.

The piece is in one continuous movement in roughly five sections, slow-fast-slow-fast-slow. The first section is some kind of presentation of the main material, basically slow but very virtuoso and with lots of sudden changes in dynamics and speed. The second section is a very rhythmical passage with steady (fast) pulse. The third is a slow development of material heard in the first section. The fourth section is an extended kind of extremely hectic cadenza with amplifying "accompaniment" by what gradually becomes almost an army of cellos. After its climax, the music becomes quite rapidly slow again, to end (similarly as "Cardhu") very quietly and in the high regions of the instrument's range.

The score is dedicated to Arne Deforce, who first performed the piece on November 7, 2009 in AMUZ, Antwerp (B), as part of Champ d'Action's Birthday concert, and to Guillaume Van Mechelen.

Indien u dit werk gaat uitvoeren, dan kunt u hier uw concert-informatie aangeven. Donemus zorgt dan voor vermelding van het concert op de Donemus Facebook pagina en in de Donemus Concertagenda.
U kunt van dit werk de partituur of andere producten on-line aanschaffen. Indien u kiest voor een downloadbaar product, ontvangt u het product digitaal. In alle andere gevallen wordt deze naar u opgestuurd. Let op dat u voor iedere gebruiker een exemplaar van het product nodig heeft.
Product Omschrijving Prijs/stuk Aantal
Partituur Download naar Newzik (B4), 26 pagina's EUR 20,12
Download in PDF (B4), 26 pagina's EUR 24,15
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 26 pagina's EUR 36,26
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 26 pagina's EUR 29,76