Brewaeys, Luc

Luc Brewaeys werd geboren in 1959 te Mortsel (België). Hij studeerde compositie bij André LAPORTE in Brussel, bij Franco DONATONI in Siena (Italiê) en bij Brian FERNEYHOUGH in Darmstadt (Duitsland).

gerelateerde werken

Due cose belle ha il mondo: l’amore e la morte... : for piano solo, chamber orchestra and live-electronics / Luc Brewaeys

Genre: Orkest
Subgenre: Orkest met elektronica

Sonatine no. 5 : voor piano / Jan Felderhof

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Piano
Bezetting: pf

Preludium und Tanz : für Klavier solo, 1992 / Tera de Marez Oyens

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Piano
Bezetting: pf

Sonate : voor piano, 1924 / Jacob van Domselaer

Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Piano
Bezetting: pf



Pyramids in Siberia : for piano / Luc Brewaeys

Uitgavenummer: 13649
Genre: Kamermuziek
Subgenre: Piano
Bezetting: pf
Tijdsduur: 16'00"
Aantal spelers: 1
Compositiejaar: 1989
Status: volledig gedigitaliseerd (direct leverbaar)

This piece was commissioned by the "Rencontres Internationales de Musique Contemporaine" in Metz, after I won their composition competition in 1988 for my "Second Symphony". A partial premiere was played by Gérard Frémy during the Festival in 1989. The Belgian genius pianist Jan Michiels gave the complete première of the work a year later.

The title is a little strange, but the music reflects it in a way. The form is entirely based on the Golden Section, and the duration of every part is based on it. There are three "main sections" (the three "Pyramids") which increase both in length and in tempo, the first being a kind of meditation on the note b (natural), the second a scene on quite complex chords with some outbursts and the last one being a kind of toccata with many notes in a breathtaking tempo which lasts for about 4 minutes. The introduction, interludes and postlude are very static and based on natural harmonics on the piano by playing sharp bass notes while other keys are depressed silently, if one likes it's the "Siberia" from the title.

The intention was to compose a spectral piano work without using any special playing techniques, so everything is played in the normal way on the keyboard. Because I encountered quite some problems with the third pedal on most pianos I wrote the work in such a way that the piece is to be performed without it.

Indien u dit werk gaat uitvoeren, dan kunt u hier uw concert-informatie aangeven. Donemus zorgt dan voor vermelding van het concert op de Donemus Facebook pagina en in de Donemus Concertagenda.
U kunt van dit werk de partituur of andere producten on-line aanschaffen. Indien u kiest voor een downloadbaar product, ontvangt u het product digitaal. In alle andere gevallen wordt deze naar u opgestuurd. Let op dat u voor iedere gebruiker een exemplaar van het product nodig heeft.
Product Omschrijving Prijs/stuk Aantal
Partituur Download naar Newzik (B4), 20 pagina's EUR 15,93
Download in PDF (B4), 20 pagina's EUR 19,12
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 20 pagina's EUR 31,88
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 20 pagina's EUR 26,16