Roman, Johan Helmich

gerelateerde werken

Coronation Anthems : for mixed choir and ensemble / Johan Helmich Roman; transcribed by Cees Wagemakers

Genre: Vocaal
Subgenre: Gemengd koor en groot ensemble
Bezetting: GK 2ob 2fg 3trp timp 2vn vla bass

Coda : (1983), voor gemengd koor, 10 akkordeons, piano, contrabas en slagwerk, 1990 / bewerkt door Bernard van Beurden, tekst: Giuseppe Verdi, Jacques Bank

Genre: Vocaal
Subgenre: Gemengd koor en groot ensemble
Bezetting: GK4 perc pf 8acc 2acc-b cb

De Koning van Frankrijk en de stad Maestricht : opus 107, voor gemengd koor en blaasorkest , 1974 / tekst: onbekende dichter, 1673, Louis Toebosch

Genre: Vocaal
Subgenre: Gemengd koor en groot ensemble
Bezetting: GK4 1131 sax-a sax-b sax-t 1101 crt barh

Gacela de la muerte oscura : voor gemengd koor, 11 blazers, piano en contrabas, 1984 / tekst van Federico García Lorca, Ab Sandbrink

Genre: Vocaal
Subgenre: Gemengd koor en groot ensemble
Bezetting: GK4 2020 1330 pf cb



Coronation Anthems : for mixed choir and ensemble / Johan Helmich Roman; transcribed by Cees Wagemakers

Uitgavenummer: 14507
Genre: Vocaal
Subgenre: Gemengd koor en groot ensemble
Bezetting: GK 2ob 2fg 3trp timp 2vn vla bass
Bijzonderheden: Early Music Edition. Single titles available separately.
Tijdsduur: 25'00"
Compositiejaar: 1751
Status: Unieke collectie Renaissance-handschriften overgebracht naar hedendaagse notatie. Honderden vocale werken die in verschillende bibliotheken in Europa waren weggestopt en nu voor het eerst beschikbaar zijn dankzij redacteur Cees Wagemakers.

Overige auteurs:
Wagemakers, Cees (editor)
Prisa Jerusalem Herran
Lovat vare Herren
Lover Herrans helga Namn
Fröjdens Gudi! Alleluia
Herren är när
Lycka ske Konungenom
Bevisa oss Dina hjälp
Konungen hoppas uppå Herran
Han haver ett uppseende
Så hög som Himmelen över Jordena är
Syndarena have en ända på Jordene
Johan Helmich Roman (1694-1758) is one of Sweden’s most important composers of all time. He has been called ‘the Father of Swedish music’ and with good reason. As chief conductor of the Royal Court Orchestra, composer, musician and teacher, Roman laid the ground for an increasingly rich music scene in 18th century Sweden. He was also the first Swedish composer to attain international status, and had a prolific musical output covering most of the genres of his time, instrumental and vocal, with the exception of opera and oratorios.
Johan Helmich Roman was born into a musical family, the son of Johan Roman the elder - himself a member of the Hovkapellet (the Royal Court Orchestra). His father’s family had their roots in Finland, while his mother was from a German family that had recently moved to Sweden. Johan Helmich was therefore enrolled at the German school, which was the best in Stockholm and which exposed his young mind to a broader European cultural heritage.
In 1711, at the age of seventeen, Roman was given a position at the Hovkapellet, where the North German influence that had coloured the music of the Swedish empire period was still dominating. Amongst the musicians there from 1712 was oboist Johann Jakob Bach, one of Johann Sebastian Bach’s older brothers.
During the first decades of the 18th century, however, the French influence became stronger at the Swedish royal court, and thus in the Hovkapellet as well, which gave Roman a valuable schooling in both
the German and French stylistic ideals. In 1716, after having studied in Stockholm and Bender, Roman was granted permission to study abroad and he went to The King’s Theatre in Londen, where Handel was the house composer. It is almost certain that Roman played in the orchestra during the premiere of Handel’s Radamisto.
After returning to Sweden Roman was regarded a highly-trained, modern-minded musician. He had grown into a superb oboist and violinist and as a composer who had acquired thorough knowledge of new stylistic trends in opera and instrumental music. He had also gained experience of the vibrant English concert scene and a familiarity with the repertoire that would prove invaluable to his future as hovkapellmästare (chief conductor of the Hovkapellet). Soon after his appointment there were clear signs of increased musical activity at the royal court.
During his service as chief conductor he saw several rulers pass. First King Charles XII who was accidentally shot, his sister Ulrika Eleonora, who abdicated in favour of her husband, a German Prince, who was crowned Frederick I, and after whose death another German prince made his entry into Stockholm in 1743: Adolph Frederick of Holstein-Gottorp. A few months later the marriage contract was sealed with Princess Lovisa Ulrika of Prussia, sister of Frederick the Great.
The wedding ceremonies took place at Drottningholm Palace, for which occasion Roman wrote the Drottningholmsmusiken - for the ‘royal nuptials’. Beside this he wrote many large works, among them Then Svenska Messan (The Swedish Masses) and King Frederick’s Funeral Music. His final trial of strength at the court he had served ever since the age of 17, was: Hans Mayt Konung Adolph Friedrichs Krönings Musik (His Majesty King Adolph Frederick’s Coronation Music).
Johan Helmich Roman died of cancer in 1758. His last dated composition is from June 1756 to words from Psalm 11: ‘In the Lord put I my trust’. And so ended the Father of Swedish music’s earthly labours.
The manuscript of these anthems has been scanned and put on the internet in 2008 as a gift from the government to the Swedish people at the occasion of the 250th death anniversary of Johan Helmich Roman.

Cees Wagemakers, 2015 (With thanks to Anna Ivarsdottir)

Indien u dit werk gaat uitvoeren, dan kunt u hier uw concert-informatie aangeven. Donemus zorgt dan voor vermelding van het concert op de Donemus Facebook pagina en in de Donemus Concertagenda.
U kunt van dit werk de partituur of andere producten on-line aanschaffen. Indien u kiest voor een downloadbaar product, ontvangt u het product digitaal. In alle andere gevallen wordt deze naar u opgestuurd. Let op dat u voor iedere gebruiker een exemplaar van het product nodig heeft.
Product Omschrijving Prijs/stuk Aantal
Partituur Download naar Newzik (A4), 88 pagina's EUR 37,15
Download in PDF (A4), 88 pagina's EUR 44,58
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 88 pagina's EUR 66,93